Perk # 74: An Excuse To Buy New Clothes

I  figured that by now, nine weeks post-mastectomy, I would have been fitted with a prosthetic breast.  Unfortunately, due to swelling in the incision area and burns from my radiation, it will likely be months before I get my fake boobie.  In the meantime, it is up to me to make peace with my new lop-sided physique.  As far as I am concerned, there is no better way to make peace with your bod than adorning it with new clothes!

Although my closet is bursting at the seams with clothing, I can honestly say, “I have nothing to wear.”   You see, all of THAT clothes was bought to fit the body of a woman with two breasts (what was the fashion world thinking????)   Take for example the little number I am wearing at the beach in the photo below.  I am pretty sure that if I put that on now, it would only be a matter of time before someone  noticed that I have  one breast.  Ya think?

Six months before mastectomy

So today, I dusted off the ole VISA and hit the mall in search of a new style.  My old motto: “If you got if, flaunt it”, is just not cutting it right now.  I therefore adopted a new motto: “If you got it, flaunt it.  If you ain’t got it, hide it.”  Hence the assortment of black, flowing tops.  So here I am, decked out in my new threads.  Whadda ya think?  (Stay posted for the Victoria’s Secret spread next year after my reconstruction).

Tip: Cancer will likely change your body.  You may lose or gain weight, lose your hair, or even lose a breast or two.   Make peace with your new body, and dress it in a way that makes you feel both beautiful and comfortable.

18 thoughts on “Perk # 74: An Excuse To Buy New Clothes

  1. Hey Flo, you’re rockin the black, flowy tops~ I absolutely love the polka dot one. I am not sure if it’s your blog or turning 50 recently, that has got me appreciating my body just as it is, flaws and all 🙂 Have an aweseome day and weekend!! You look marvellous darling!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up « Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  3. Just found you via the Weekly Round Up and had to say that you are looking fabulous!!! You are making me itch for some post-treatment shopping….dangerous woman!

Leave a comment